Basal Metabolic Rate, BMI, Calorie Counter, Cardiovascular System, Healthy Eating Plate, Healthy Eating Pyramid, Healthy Living, Hope for You, Lose Weight, MyPlate

Today, I Am Taking Back My Health

Today is a special day because it marks the second month after my dengue incident, and it also happens to be my spiritual birthday. Yes, I do have a spiritual birthday and I celebrate it every year, because it reminds me of God’s love and points me from where I was to where I am right now. What better day than today to embark on a new journey to take back my health!

Like a swing that never made it to the other side my health got stuck where it was four months ago. My weight started from 140 in January then went down to 128 in February as I did my healthy diet and high impact exercises. If there was any consolation I got from being sick, it was the long stopover of my weight. I was happy to read the scale at 128 pounds last night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Somehow, it inspired me to get back on track again, although I know it will not be easy. I guess I have to muster all my willpower to get the momentum back; this time though, I will have to take a different route. Another knock on the head, would be detrimental to my health. I don’t need to take an ice bucket challenge to have a brain freeze to remind myself that my age is not on my side. So I’ve got to slow it down.

“Your body system could not take the heavy stress: your immune system got compromised and which is why you had dengue,” was my friend’s stern remark. It took a little while before I got past my denial stage after she said that.

So today, I decide to take a slow but steady stride as a commitment to God and to myself – I want to be a better version of me.

My goal for this month and the succeeding months is to modify my diet using “The Healthy Eating Plate” as my guide; then to load up on my Essentials to fill in the nutritional gaps. I will also journal and share my progress in the hope of encouraging someone to take back their own health.

Media Credit:
Taking back my Health: http://www.sarahkayhoffman.com/2014/07/30/gaps-diet-day-1/

Note: I have no relation to GAPS diet; I just borrowed the media file from Ms. Hoffman

 

Leave a Reply

