Hope for You

Seeds of Hope

Everybody needs this small seed of hope whether you are a patient, a doctor or a nurse. There is only One source.

A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed. Psalm 11:25

NCF Nurses Blog

SproutsInviting nursing students to talk about the spiritual needs of patients – and themselves – is a challenge. Recently I gave a presentation on spiritual care to all of the senior nursing students at the University of Illinois. One student responded boldly, “I would rather ask my patients about their bowel movements than about their spiritual needs.”

I was thankful for his honesty. As part of the workshop I led on “Caring for the Spiritual Needs of Our Patients,” students asked each other what gave them strength and what they believed in. One student responded, “I believe in myself. I rely on myself and I also believe in science.”

This student is probably not the only one who puts his hope in himself and in his own ability to get through any situation. I was reminded of the need for these students to have a personal experience with God…

View original post 355 more words

Leave a Reply

